Browse US Open 2018: history, rules, the participants of the tournament

Обзор US Open 2018: история, регламент, участники турнира

Today the tournament US Open or the open championship of the USA on tennis most title tournament for this sport in the American continent. As one of the representatives of the "Grand slam", he annually in September, attracts the attention of the world sports community. Popular and bets in bookmakers for the matches of the tournament.

A bit of history

History the tournament started in 1881 in Newport, members of the local tennis club gathered for the tournament. Only much later the tournament moved to new York, where we hold to the present time. In the full sense of the U.S. Open tournament appeared only in 1968, the year when was introduced to the world the practice of admission to the competition of professional athletes.

It should be noted that the ultimate capacity of the main courts of the tournament amounts to 23 thousand of spectators, and the finals in the stands are no empty seats.


The start of the tournament this year will take place on 27 August, but the qualifying matches will begin almost two weeks before the start of the games in the main round. In total, U.S. courts battles will take place in five categories, including games in the doubles mixed doubles (pairs of mixed composition). Games are held on the hard coating.

The main draw of the tournament in singles is set to start performances with 1/64 final, that is, in the selected championship 128 players. The winner of the tournament will be held at the courts of new York in seven games.

Men's games are held on three victories in sets, while in the women's meetings need to win to win only two sets.


Traditionally in America come all the strongest players, since the size of the prize Fund in the region of 30 million dollars and a large number of ranking points for "Grand slam", stimulate all the players on an uncompromising struggle.

Among active players, the most famous is Roger Federer, who won the US Open five times, but the last victory came in far 2008 year (five straight wins). In recent years, victories were achieved, Nadal, Wawrinka and Djokovic.

Women today no clear favorite, so to predict the winner very, very difficult. For example, last year victory celebrated American Stevens.

Comments ()

    You need to login to create comments.

    Login Забыли пароль?

    Вы можете зарегистрироваться и оставить комментарий

    Также, You can authorize on site with: